## Non-Resident Borrowing Policy

It had been a longstanding policy of the Otsego County Library to offer borrowing privileges to any person living in our Northern region. This was based on regional resource sharing policies and a statewide Michicard program that are no longer in effect.

Therefore, the Otsego County Library has changed its non-resident policy. We will provide a library card and **all** borrowing privileges, including MeLCat borrowing and Overdrive ebooks to:

- taxpayers of Otsego County
- students attending school in the county
- persons who work at an Otsego County business.

Those persons whose home library will provide cards that allow Otsego County residents to borrow from their local collections (reciprocal borrowing) will be allowed **local** borrowing privileges. This does not include the Overdrive ebook and audiobook services, other licensed resources, or MeLCat borrowing/pickup.

## Non-residents may obtain a card with full borrowing privileges for a fee of \$30 per individual or \$75 per family.

The Otsego County Library extended an offer to neighboring libraries to enter into a Reciprocal Borrowing agreement. If you **do not** see your home library listed below, they declined our offer and you will need to pay a non-resident fee to borrow any items from this library. If you have questions, please contact Library Director Jackie Skinner at (989) 732-5841 or jskinner@otsego.org.

Alcona County Library Beaver Island District Library Boyne District Library Charlevoix Public Library **Crawford County Library Crooked Tree District Library** (including Warner & Hudson Twp) Elk Rapids District Library Indian River Area Library Interlochen Public Library Kalkaska County Library Mackinaw Area Public Library Montmorency County Libraries Oscoda County Library Petoskey District Library Presque Isle District Library Suttons Bay District Library Traverse Area District Library Wolverine Community Library